Movers and Shakers for Oct. 18

Broadband and telecommunications operator Quintillion announced the addition of Ariel Burr as senior manager of Government Programs and Business Development. Burr is charged with leading the corporation’s efforts to connect rural Alaska communities with better education and health care services through the Federal Communications Commission’s E-rate and Rural Health Care programs. She will also manage Quintillion’s Rural Utility Service initiatives and other state and federal funding programs that provide more opportunity and access to remote regions of the state. Burr comes to Quintillion from GCI — the largest recipient of RHC funds in the nation — where she was senior manager of Business Administration for Government, Health Care and Education. She holds a master’s degree in business administration from Alaska Pacific University, and is one of the state’s leading knowledge experts in FCC’s Universal Service Administrative Co. programs.

Northrim Bank Vice President-Assistant Division Manager Josh King has recently graduated from the Pacific Coast Banking School. King has been with Northrim Funding Services in Bellevue, Wash. for 11 years. PCBS is a three-year program in partnership with the Graduate School of Business at the University of Washington.

The Alaska Travel Industry Association announced its 2020-21 board of directors on Oct. 9 at its virtual convention. The Executive Committee is: Board Chair Bill Pedlar, Knightly Tours; Outside Vice Chair Scott Habberstad, Alaska Airlines; Outside Past Chair Dan Oberlatz, Alaska Alpine Adventures; Southwest Secretary/Membership Chair Craig Jennison, TEMSCO Helicopters; Southeast Treasurer/Finance Chair Dave McGlothlin, Holland America Group; Outside Marketing Chair Colleen Stephens, Stan Stephens Glacier &Wildlife Cruises; At-Large Government Relations Co-Chair Julie Saupe, Visit Anchorage; Southcentral Government Relations Co-Chair Holly Johnson, Wings of Alaska &Taku Glacier Lodge; Southeast Tourism Policy and Planning Chair Josh Howes, Premier Alaska Tours, Southcentral President and CEO; and Sarah Leonard, ATIA. The board of directors is Adriel Butler, Aurora Expeditions and Borealis Base Camp, Southcentral; Dan Rough, Holland America Line, Outside; Deb Hickok, Explore Fairbanks, Interior; Dennis McDonnell, Alaska Coach Tours, Southeast; Elizabeth Hall, John Hall’s Alaska Cruises &Tours, At-Large; Emily Edenshaw, Alaska Native Heritage Center, At-Large; John Binkley, Riverboat Discovery, At-Large; Kory Eberhardt, A Taste of Alaska Lodge, Interior; Matt Atkinson, Northern Alaska Tour Co., Arctic; Patti Mackey, Ketchikan Visitors Bureau, Southeast; Tennelle Peterson Wise, Grande Denali LLC, Interior; and Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer, Ex-Officio. Board elected seats for one-year terms are: Lalanya Downs, Cruise Line Industry Association-Alaska; Camille Ferguson, Sitka Tribe of Alaska; Dennis McDonnell, Alaska Coach; and Tours Thomas Stark, Wells Fargo.

10/14/2020 - 9:14am